Electronic Press Kit


The Break Lights are a four-piece alternative rock band from New Jersey influenced by artists such as The Beatles, Neil Young, Paul Simon, Wilco, Radiohead, and Spoon. Singer-songwriters Michael Saiewitz and Jake Roggenkamp harmoniously blend their unique voices and write interesting songs that range from self-reflective ballads to upbeat rock. Their guitar work reflects this complexity as Jake plays confident rhythm guitar and Michael adds thoughtful lead guitar on top. Raaj Shah lays down bold basslines and Ryan Minieri unites the instrumentation with colorful drums. The Break Lights perform in intimate venues in New Jersey and New York City. The band has released two self-produced EPs: "Ladies" in 2014, "Knockout" in 2015, and "The Bright Life" in 2017.


NPR Music featured our Tiny Desk Contest video in an article about entries they loved.

Glide Magazine premiered the first song off "The Bright Life" EP and wrote a great article about us. Check it out and listen to "Why Don't You Call Me?"

We did a Q&A for Buzz Artist. The questions were challenging and made us think deeply about the band, especially the one that required us to come up with words to describe each member. Click here to read the full article.



Released August 1st, 2015

Jake Roggenkamp - lead vocals, electric & acoustic guitar, harmonica

Michael Saiewitz - lead electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass, drums, backup vocals 

Raaj Shah - bass, backup vocals 

Evan Rodrigues - drums 

Album art by Bill Holsten


Released April 19th, 2014

Jake Roggenkamp - vocals, electric guitar

Michael Saiewitz - vocals, lead electric guitar

Raaj Shah - bass, backup vocals 

Evan Rodrigues - drums 

Album art by Michael Saiewitz

Special thanks to Adam Saiewitz for recording, mixing, & mastering